Belated Birthday

November 1, 2009

Happy birthday to me, happy birthday… Wait, wasn’t that more than a month ago?

Blowing out Candles

I turned seventeen (17!) on September 12th.  I had an amazing birthday party.  A bunch of my friends came over and we had a scavenger hunt.  Some of the items on the list; a teacher’s signature from our high school, an item of baby clothing, something on sale, a toy, and a picture with a sophomore at our school.  “And who won?” you ask.  Well, we tied, but the other team cheated.  We drove to a local restaurant to pick up the sophomore from the place where he works and went inside to search for him where he told us he’d be.  Strangely enough, we learned he had already left.  We returned home sophomoreless, only to find the other team had kidnapped him!  No fair.  We got a picture with a picture of him, which earned us half-credit, and they forgot to get a picture for one of their items, for which they received half-credit.  But really, we should have won.

Regardless, it was a fun activity.  The best part was, all the items like the baby clothes, toys, and articles of winter clothing were donated to a charity afterwards.  What a great use of my birthday!

mintbrownie

And of course, I also use parties as an excuse to bake something fancy.  For this party, it was lemon-blueberry bars and chocolate-mint brownies.  The lemon-blueberry bars were delicious, even though they were a crazy color!  I didn’t use any food coloring, and they were still vibrantly hued.  However, the brownies were my favorite.  I would use a different brownie base next time (the original was too dry and cakelike for my liking), but the topping was a great idea.  It was like a giant peppermint patty.

I’ll have to search for a base that’s not too rich (my favorite brownies, the ones on the back of the Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate bars, would just be overpowering), but not too dry either.  Let me know if you have any good ideas!

lemon blueberry bar

For the lemon bars, I used the recipe from sophistimom, but replaced the raspberries with frozen blueberries.  This is a fun way to make a really colorful dessert.

mintbrownieside

For the brownie bars, I mostly followed the Cooking Light Mint Bars recipe.  Delicioso!

Enjoy. =]

Leave a Reply

