Mess of a Macaron

October 31, 2009

macaronhand

Macarons huh?  I’ve seen these little guys plenty of times while putting off my homework and browsing foodgawker.  I always wondered about them, and lo-and-behold, here they were as our Daring Baker’s Challenge.  After some research I realized just how difficult these can be.  There are infinite methods of making them and billions of recipes.  I stuck with the recipe of Claudia Fleming’s that we were provided with, but made them chocolate (I added about 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder) and filled them with a delicious cookie dough frosting, courtesy of Lovin’ From the Oven.

The 2009 October Daring Bakers’ challenge was brought to us by Ami S. She chose macarons from Claudia Fleming’s The Last Course: The Desserts of Gramercy Tavern as the challenge recipe.

THE DARING COOKS OCTOBER 2009 CHALLENGE: MACAROONS


This was most definitely a challenge.  I did everything you’re supposed to (really!).  I aged my egg whites for about 4 days on the counter, covered with a piece of wax paper.  I weighed the egg whites and the almond meal for accuracy.  I made the almond meal myself, and don’t know if I ground it quite fine enough.  I’d like to try with store bought almond flour to see if that makes a difference.

Despite all this, first batch = no feet.  Second batch (pictured below) = 1.75 feet.  Third batch = no feet.  I left all of the batches out on the counter for a bit to dry, and none of them formed feet then either.
sheet

Here is a comparison of the macaroons I made.  Why some sort of worked and others didn’t, I have no idea.

macaron footlessmacaronfoot

It’s possible I overmixed the batter.  I also had a lot of difficulty piping it onto the baking sheets.  I didn’t have the right sized pastry tip, so I used a plastic bag.  The came out in spurts, rather than as I believe they were supposed to.  One thing I did right; none of my macarons were hollow!

This is definitely something I’m going to have to try again.  Maybe one day with Tartlette’s recipe, or David Lebovitz’s. I’d love to find a macaron making class somewhere (do those exist?).  And to tell you the truth, I’ve never even tasted a real macaron (France here I come!).

Anyways, this challenge was a lot of fun, and much less time intensive than the puff pastry challenge.  Neither so far have come out even close to perfect (hence the name of this blog, huh?), but I’ve had fun and learned a lot while trying them.  I guess that’s what it’s all about, right?

2 Responses to “Mess of a Macaron”


  1. I love you spirit the Daring Bakers’ are about the journey not so much about the end results. But those macarons are pretty close to perfect just a little cracked. Superbly done. Cheers from Audax in Australia. YES try tartelette’s recipe it is much easier.


Leave a Reply

