Delicious Bites

March 28, 2010

A lot of my baking tends to be lower calorie, fat-free goodies.  I believe whole-heartedly in enjoying a sinfully rich chocolate ice cream sundae or decadent brownies, but I can’t eat like that all the time.  As a dancer, I have to be uber-aware of what I’m putting in my mouth.  Sometimes that really sucks, but it helps me to challenge myself in the kitchen.  What can I make that’s healthy, yet still tastes good?

Yeast risen breads are almost always low in fat.  True, breads composed completely of white flour aren’t exactly the epitome of health, but if you add a bit of whole wheat flour you’re on the right track.  I had been craving cinnamon raisin bread (well, toast to be precise.  With lots of butter.  Yeah, yeah, not healthy, I know) for a while, so I decided to make my own.  This bread recipe from the Fresh Loaf was perfect.  I’ve never had dough rise as well as this did.  I put it in a warm oven (turn oven on warm setting and then turn it off before putting in the bread) with a bowl of steaming water and it double much quicker than the recipe predicted.  I thought this may lead to some problems in the final product, but the bread was delicious, light, and ideal for toast.  To add the swirl, roll out the bread before shaping into loaves, sprinkle with a generous amount of cinnamon sugar, and roll up tightly.  Tuck ends under and place in loaf pan.

I’ve found a couple of really amazing low-fat recipes on David Lebovitz’s blog.  The only one I wouldn’t recommend is the pumpkin-chocolate chip ring.  Perhaps I did something wrong, but the bread did not rise one bit.  It was more of a block than a bread.

Here are my favorites:

  • Non-fat Gingersnaps ~ Sandwich these with some pumpkin or vanilla frozen yogurt and freeze to make delicious and healthy ice cream sandwiches.
  • Oatmeal Raisin Cookies – I made these with my friends and nobody noticed that they were lower in fat!  You could probably cut back on the sugar in this recipe; they’re very sweet.  And while they’re not the prettiest cookies, their taste more than makes up for it.
  • Banana Bread/Cake – This cake is unbelievable light and fluffy.  Another brother-approved recipe.

Granola is usually considered a healthy food.  Yet, take one look at a nutrition label and you might have second thoughts.  The huge amount of sugar and oil usually involved in its creation renders it an indulgence; not always what you want for breakfast.  Here are couple of my favorite wholesome granola recipes:

Happy healthy baking!

One Response to “Delicious Bites”

  1. Kaitlin Says:

    I love how the swirl looks in your bread!

    I need to start looking for some healthy recipes, myself XD Thanks for the links!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

